Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet, #1)Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It was a great book! I actually listened to this as an audiobook and enjoyed it thoroughly. I’m not saying it was amazing, breathtaking, heart-stopping book. It was just a great story and had brilliant ideas. I decided to listen to the book, after a bit of nagging and pleading. I’d always thought it as average. I didn’t even know what it was about but, being me, I stepped into the world of unknown and ventured.

The story began and it had already had me interested. What was this monitor? What experiment? And so I ventured further, hanging on to every word, letting the words fill the silence, letting the time slip by. The story was quick to understand:Defeat the buggers. Yet, like Ender, I didn’t how this was possible. How Ender was supposed to be the one to accomplish this. The thing that surprised me was that Ender was 6 at the beginning. I thought he was around 11 but turns out he was 6 when the story started. His thoughts were so grown up and his actions were nothing of a child.

The book wore on with many events and challenges held at the battle school. Personally, I think Ender should have stayed at home, at the moments when he missed home and Valentine. But then again, I knew he had to defeat the buggers. I liked the small conversion of Colonel Graph;however,I hated the way they talked about Ender. Thy were clever, I have to admit. They did certain things so that Ender would think in a certain way. The stages of how Ender progressed through Battle school were interesting, every time he faced a new challenge that was more difficult than the last.

And then Command School? I liked Command School much better because it didn’t seem to drag on that much and his friends were with him,not really but still. The plot twist at the end, when he finds out the simulator is real, was , without a doubt, my favourite part of the story. Also, finding out the buggers, who are actually good was a shock.

I also really enjoyed the side story of Locke and Demosthenes- in fact, I REALLY REALLY enjoyed these chapters. I loved how no-one knew that they were children and secretly thy were writing all these articles.It just proves that status can give you a lot of authority.  One thing I hated is how calm Valentine and Ender were on the raft when they met. I was thinking of how Ender would be so glad and they would tell each other everything and they would laugh but that didn’t happen- sadly. My favourite character  is Bean because he reminds me of Ender but the mini version who is a bit more… Beany

All in all, the book was good. The next 11 books in the series re going to be a struggle. I’m looking forward to reading them though and I hope you enjoyed this blog!

View all my reviews

Sign Off

2 thoughts on “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

    • Hmm, Speaker Of The Dead was okay… But Xenocide? I LOVED IT! Xenocide is probably one of my most favourite books in the world! It was actually amazing, I’m sad to hear you didn’t like it as much. I read the last, Children Of The Mind ( a continuation fo Xenocide) which was good also.

      Like

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

