Listening For Lucca by Suzanne LaFleur

Listening for LuccaListening for Lucca by Suzanne LaFleur

Wow! This was a great book and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I’d never read anything similar and so I was really intrigued. I had read ‘Love Aubrey’* by the same author and it was really good. I picked up the book from my local library and began to read.

Her obsession with lost things was a great addition to the story and linked in well with Lucca’s lost voice. I always imagined her little brother speaking and he did(at the end). I was more interested in Sarah’s story than Siena’s. My favourite part was when Jenny locked Sarah’s lips with a key so that she couldn’t speak. But that wasn’t what I liked about it. It was how Siena found the key afterwards and she could see it, unlike Sarah. The story of Sarah was great. Usually, I hate books about the past but this was different. The story didn’t drag on but didn’t move on too quickly. I liked how it kept switching between Sarah and Siena. It was great that Siena had a friend Sam, someone who didn’t think she was weird. Usually in books, the other person just gets freaked out and avoids them. It was different in this case and I really liked that.

Also, the idea of writing Sarah’s story through Siena was good but LaFluer didn’t explore how Siena could do that and nobody else. It did not make sense why she could do that. How was she chosen? I get that her brother and her’s life was a parallel copy, but what about the visions and stuff? The rest of the book was great.

Above all, the lady next door was my favourite character. Even though she played a small part in the story I just felt that it was her who made the book complete. I give this book 5 stars! All in all, the book was great and I would love to read some other books by LaFleur like Eight Keys and I might!

*If you want me to do a review on ‘Love Aubrey’ tell me in the comments below!

View all my reviews

Sign Off

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

