WWW Wednesday | 10th August 2016

Hi, fellow bookworms!

Ready for my second WWW Wednesday? Great!

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

You can join in if you want! Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW Wednesday

*All external links take you to Goodreads*

What I’m reading then, now and soon!

Children of the Mind (The Ender Quintet, #5)BlameFacelessXenocide (Ender's Saga, #3)The Rest of Us Just Live Here

What I’m Currently Reading?

Children of the Mind (The Ender Quintet, #5)Children of the Mind by Orson Scott Card

As a continuation of Xenocide, the previous book, It has been good so far. I can’t wait to finish it!

 

Lusitania is threatened by the same planet-destroying weapon that Ender,he himself, used so many years before. Only Jane, the computer intelligence that has evolved with him over 3,000 years can save the three sentient races of Lusitania.

Taken From Goodreads

BlameBlame by Simon Mayo

I’ve just begun Blame so I don’t know much…

 

 

What happens when society wants you banged up in prison for a crime your parents committed?

That’s the situation in which Ant finds herself – together with her little brother Mattie and their foster-parents, she’s locked up in a new kind of family prison. None of the inmates are themselves criminals, but wider society wants them to do time for the unpunished ‘heritage’ crimes of their parents.

Tensions are bubbling inside the London prison network Ant and Mattie call home – and when things finally erupt, they realize they’ve got one chance to break out. Everyone wants to see them punished for the sins of their mum and dad, but it’s time for Ant to show the world that they’re not to blame.

A new nail-bitingly taught YA suspense thriller, from author of the bestselling ITCH series, Simon Mayo

Taken From Goodreads

What did you recently finish reading?

FacelessFaceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a great YA novel and I loved it. It was a good break from dystopian novels and really made me realize how lucky I am.

After a thunderstorm and a morning run that turned into a nightmare, Masie finds herself in a hospital bed with the ceiling staring back up at her. Masie comes to realize that her ‘accident’ has caused her to lose some parts of her face and skin and therefore undertakes a face transplant. Everyone keeps calling her ‘lucky’ but Masie hates how people stare at here and she hates the drugs she has to take that make her tired. She hates trying to ‘fit’ in when she knows that the world sees her as a ‘freak’. Trying to adjust to her new flesh, Masie has to learn how to accept herself as she is now.

Xenocide (Ender's Saga, #3)Xenocide by Orson Scott Card

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was exceptional. I did give the previous book ‘Speaker For The Dead’, 5 STARS too, but, after reading this book, Speaker For The Dead does not deserve the same rating as Xenocide, impossible! (Review coming soon!)

The war for survival of the planet Lusitania will be fought in the hearts of a child named Gloriously Bright.

On Lusitania, Ender found a world where humans and pequininos and the Hive Queen could all live together; where three very different intelligent species could find common ground at last. Or so he thought.

Lusitania also harbors the descolada, a virus that kills all humans it infects, but which the pequininos require in order to become adults. The Starways Congress so fears the effects of the descolada, should it escape from Lusitania, that they have ordered the destruction of the entire planet, and all who live there. The Fleet is on its way, and a second xenocide seems inevitable.

Taken From Goodreads

And Finally, what I’m reading next?

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I’ve heard a lot about Patrick Ness and I like the concept of this book. The way the main character is not the ‘one’ who is saving the world, but a normal person trying to make sense of the world. I’m really excited to begin this novel.

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey?

Taken From Goodreads

Well, that’s my WWW Wednesday for today. Tell me what you’ve been reading? Have you read any of these books?Do you want to read any of these books? Feel free to leave your link to you WWW Wednesday! 

Be sure to like and follow for posts every Monday, Wednesday, and Saturdays!

Sign Off

22 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 10th August 2016

  1. I hope you like the Ness. I’ve heard good things about that one as well and I’ve been tempted by it a few times. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. I really really want to read Blame! 🙂 It’s sounds exactly the sort of thing I’d enjoy and I’ve been hearing positive things from early readers. I hope you like it.
    I’m a massive fan of Patrick Ness. The Rest of Us Just Live Here isn’t his best book, but it’s funny and a good story.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/www-wednesday-10th-august-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, all the reviews on Goodreads so far are 4/5 stars which means it really must be great!
      I’ve heard about how Ness could’ve made this book better but I’m still ready to indulge myself in it!
      Your welcome and happy reading to you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard of Faceless, glad that you enjoyed it. I may check it out when I get a chance. I like the sound of Blame, it sounds like an intriguing read. Enjoy your books this week. Happy reading!

    Like

    • Yes! I’ve only ever began ‘A Monster Calls’ but never finished it. I always see Patrick Ness’ books everywhere I go! And everyone’s always talking about his books so I decided I’ll give this book a try!

      Like

  4. Faceless has been on my tbr list for a little while now, I’m really curious about it. I’m glad you like it!
    I hope you enjoy The Rest of Us Just Live Here, I really want to read that one as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Faceless sounds like an interesting idea and I will definitely check it out.
    I love Patrick Ness’s writing; I was a major fan of “A Monster Calls” which I read during the first semester of 8th grade. I haven’t heard The Rest Of Us Just Live Here but I’m into the finding understanding books so that’s added to my never-ending list of books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

