Why I Started A Journal (and why you should too.)

We’ve all done it. Tried to keep a diary/journal and failed. Well, I have. I remember picking out the glossy covers, the thin notebooks, the one with the ‘secret lock’ and the mini keys. Seeing the fresh blank pages filling me with the hope of actually finishing this 100th journal. And there I am next week, picking up another, for a fresh start, thinking it’ll be different this time. Hoping it’ll be different.

But, I would never finish the journal.Stacks of wasted paper, hopless dreams, and washed out ink. Then I made a final decision to take this ‘journal idea’ seriously. I would write in it. I would use it. I would finish it. I was determined. I never knew what that could turn into.

But then I made a final decision to take this ‘journal idea’ seriously. I would write in it. I would use it. I would finish it. I was determined. I never knew what that could turn into.


I’ve been ‘journalling’ for quite a while now. A year, maybe 2 years? I have a little collection of the journals I’ve completed throughout my writing life. Some big, some small. I love writing in them. It makes me feel just so much more refreshed and it’s good to get what you’re feeling down on paper. Now, to some, this hobby may seem silly. What’s the point? Why write down stuff no-one’s ever gonna read?Well, that’s the point of this post!

Why did you want a journal in the first place?

As I became more aware of life and I began to read more, I realised that I wanted to remember every moment, every thought, every feeling. And the only way to do that was to write it down. That was when my journal life began. I never buy really fancy journals or anything-just something usual and pretty. My first one wasn’t too nice but still something. And I wrote.And wote. And before I knew it, I was on my second journal.

Why do you write in a journal anyways?

  1. I want to look back on my life when I’m old and grey
  2. It’s almost calming and therapeutic
  3. It helps clear your thoughts
  4. To have a friend who will always be there
  5. I’m a stationery addict
  6. To make sense of yourself
  7. You can remember experiences
  8. You can see how you’re life has changed
  9. I can write what I want, when I want
  10. It’s mine, It’s personal, It’s me. ( I really hope no-one reads my journal because it’s very personal…)

When do you find the time to write?

Before bed. When I’m snuggled up in my covers with some hot chocolate beside me, I take out a pen and my journal and reflect on my life that day, week, or even month. I write all my thoughts down, angry or excited. I think at night your brain is just ready to explode with excitement and you need to calm down before you actually sleep.

 What can you write in it?

So much. BE FREE. BE IMAGINATIVE. BE YOU. Write whatever you want, whenever you want. It’s up to you. Your journal, your life, your rules. Your imagination is the only limit.

Personally, I write what has happened to me, what weird thoughts I’m having and seriously I just let my thoughts pour out.

Quick facts about my journal(s)

  1. My handwriting is extremely messy in them (so only I can read)
  2. Hands OFF!
  3. I write in only black (ok, and sometimes blue)
  4. I like it.
  5. I don’t write in it EVERYDAY

    Is there any difference between a diary and a journal?

    Journal – a book in which you write down your personal experiences and thoughts.

    Diary- a book in which you write down recounts of things that happen.

So here’s my collection, if you wanted to see it.

wp-1483874913660.png

Do you Journal? Have you got a pile of never-ending notebooks? Want a journal? Do you have a diary instead? Have you given up on it? Do you agree or disagree with my thoughts? My best friend is a journal, what’s yours?

 

Sign Off

 

35 thoughts on “Why I Started A Journal (and why you should too.)

    • Well, i guess my life has a bit of drama, excitement and blogging involved but everyone does! (apart from blogging, of course) It’s really great to let the day’s events and thoughts pour out onto a few crisp pages which are engraved with the memories of your life.

      Like

  1. I used to have a journal when I was little. I managed to write in it nearly every day (‘nearlyyyy’) for 2 years! Even though it was only like 6 years ago, I still lovelooking back over it and laughing at little me hahaha. Journals are awesomeeee.
    Heyyyy, where did you happen to get those totally cute notebooks?? I loveeeee them so much omg

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was little, I would journal constantly. I only got back into it mid last year when I started having so many thoughts and feelings that I had no where to put them all. I’ve been a bit slack on it lately but this post has inspired me to write a little in it tonight. It’s a fun place to write about all my little dramas and things that I wouldn’t want to bother other people with. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Omg ur journals are sooo pretty!! I wish I had ones like those! I do keep a journal and just like you I don’t write in it everyday and I keep it updated on everything that happens in my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ahhh, I’m one of those “I tried to journal once”…haha. Actually I do have a journal where I write a FEW things down like…every 2 years or so?! I KNOW IT’S RIDICULOUS. Ahem. But yeah! I would love to bullet journal actually, or start a reading journal. #goals But sticking to it just neeever happens with me so I seriously need to work on that someday. Maybe next year. That will be one of my new year goals!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I started writing down life stuff in 6th grade and called it a diary (I thinking it was more of a journal, now that I see the difference) and kept on writing sporadically until 9th grade. After that, I gave up and wrote on sheets of paper whenever I wanted to, folding and putting it in the end of my old diaries. Only a few months back did I start bullet journalling, and it’s a planner and journal in one. I used to be quite a planner but with a BuJo to feed my tendencies, my planner tendencies have multiplied. Can’t say I complain, but my mom (who is a last-minute plan-maker) gets pretty annoyed that I won’t bend to her plans because I’ve already made my own way in advance. But, she’s my mom and I have to cave in most times and I become so very annoyed then.

    Like

    • Haha, I loved that anecdote! I started bullet journalling and journalling and I can’t stop. Mostly because I like buying them and using different colours and making them look pretty but also because of their authenticicty!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Same! This finally lets me use all my cute stationary! Otherwise I just wouldn’t use any of them because using it for school would be too “temporary” and cuz I’m “saving it for something better”
        The excuses I make, I swear

        Like

  6. You have such a cute collection of journals over there! ❤
    I can totally relate to your post as I have been maintaining a journal myself for all these years. It is a great way to time travel back to some grey and white days. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

