Why Bullet Journalling Will Make You A Better Blogger

I’m a blogger and I’ve got a Bullet Journal. I consider myself a better blogger than the old me who didn’t have a Bullet journal

Ever since I began taking blogging to the next level, I found it to be very hard to keep track of. As a blogger, there were so many things to remember that I couldn’t keep up with everything. It became stressful and all over the place. I decided I need to take action.

blog,eat slepp, work write,

I popped off to the shops and bought myself a cheap little notebook (Bullet Journal) with the title ‘Dream Big’.

 

 

DSCN1270
My Bullet Journal

 

 

I thought it wouldn’t be a solution. What can paper and pen do? Surely, the limits would be infinite? Surely this craze about a Bullet Journal couldn’t possibly be so helpful as so many bloggers claimed?

 

I was very wrong.

What Is a Bullet Journal?

A Bullet Journal is one thing: YOURS. It can be your to-do list, sketch pad, a note-taking tool, planning paper. Anything you want it to be. Of course, planning related. I’m going to talk through MY blogging journal and how you can use one for blogging.

Your Bullet Journal

I began using my Bullet Journal straight away. With colour coding, checklists and reminders, blogging became that treasured hobby and aspiration that we bloggers begin with but lose as it dies away.

As a stationery addict, I already had lots of bits and bobs like sticky notes to add in to my Bullet Journal. I could take my Blogging Bullet Journal with me wherever I went. I could jot down any crazy ideas before they escaped. I could keep track of sharing posts and networking. I could brainstorm. I could remind myself to do everything I needed to do. I could finally savour and enjoy my blogging experience. Being a blogger had never been easier with my Bullet Journal.

What To ‘Bullet Journal’?

 

  1. Sharing posts
  2. Outlining posts
  3. Tagging and Categorise posts
  4. Visiting other blogs
  5. Scheduling and Posting
  6. Images to include
  7. Things to do before hitting ‘publish’
  8. Research notes
  9. Mini reminders (e.g adding a new category)
  10. Guest posting

 

That’s just the tip of the iceberg. There are so many things you can do with your blogging planner or notebook. Keep track of how much money you’re making or even projects you are  working on.

My 5 Top Benefits Of Having A Bullet Journal

1.You can jot down random ideas

You know when you have that ‘Eureka!’ moment and then the amazing idea escapes out of your mind? And your try so desperately to get it back but that post idea is GONE, like a balloon in the sky.As a blogger with ideas, I found that happened to me A LOT. If you carry a bag around with you, a Bullet Journal can be SUPER USEFUL for jotting down those light bulb ideas so you can use them for later.

DSCN1216

2. You can be anywhere and everywhere

Take your note-taker with you everywhere. A Bullet Journal is light and not too big, so you can plan at work or at home with ease.

DSCN1260

 

3. You can see everything at a glance

It’s so easy to flip through the pages of your Bullet Journal and see what you’ve shared, what you’ve written and what you’ve blogged in that month, week or year. That way you can easily keep track of your blog and ideas and never be a stressed-out blogger!

DSCN1222

4. You will never forget again

When writing a post, you may forget to share it, tag it or even add your sign-off. If you use your Bullet Journal while writing your post, you can see what you need to do and when.

5. Better Quality Blog Posts

It’s true. Your blog posts will come out MUCH better when you are planning them. Everything is in order and isn’t hard to read. You’ve already outlined your posts and include all information in the right places and taken every image you need to include in your blog posts. 

Bullet Journal VS Planner?

I use my notebook for several things. Even though, it’s just lined paper it works a treat. But, if you’re really serious about blogging or a ‘planner person’, then there’s millions of blogging planners out there. Some are free printables and some you can purchase from all sorts of online stores.

I am considering buying ‘the book blogger’s planner’ by Jamie, but I want to finish my notebook first.

 

DSCN1264
Bullet Journal Vs Planner

Why I Switched From Online To Paper

For years I had been using online reminding and note-taking apps like ‘Google Keep’ or ‘Evernote’ but they never seemed to work for me. I would use it for maximum a week. I never knew that I was such a ‘paper person’. I never knew what a Bullet Journal could do for me as a blogger!

If you find your phone calendar does not work for you, and you’re a ‘paper person’, like me then don’t hesitate to colour code, note, stick, glue and design your notebook so blogging is more colourful!

 

Final Thoughts

I use my blogging tool for EVERYTHING blog-related. Whether it’s what blogs I need to check out or sharing my posts, I write down every note, reminder and top tip I can so I never miss a thing.

All in all, a blogging helping hand just makes blogging less stressful! I’ve used a Bullet Journal for ages now and I think it’s time you started too!

Do you have a way to plan and keep track of blogging? Do you do everything online or on paper? Are you considering a planner?How do you keep your ideas fresh in your brain?  Are you ready to get a Bullet Journal and be a better blogger?

Sign Off

61 thoughts on “Why Bullet Journalling Will Make You A Better Blogger

  1. I use a bullet journal for my blog and it is sooo much easier especially because I have the satisfaction of ticking things off :’) I feel like it’s more creative too, you lay it out how you want it! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. oh I really want to bullet journal!! I’m thinking of starting next year though, hehe, as long as I don’t pike out! I kind of like the idea of this sort of thing, but then I end up not doing it. #fail ANYWAY. I love the idea of organising your blog through journalling!! My blog is so not organised in any respect omg.😂 But it’d be great to have all the information in one place instead of scattered around. :’) I’d also like to start bullet journalling my reading journey, because I think it’d be really fun!!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m thinking of buying a new one (as this one is nearly full) for this new school year! I bought a daily planner years back, and used it for about 3 weeks? I just failed it epically, haha! I found that a bullet journal was so different to a planner, I could do whatever I wanted! Your blog may seem ‘un-organised’ but it’s the best book blog ever!! And you don’t need to be organised, because your posts are always so great! Your welcome 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m using a bullet journal too! it helps so much with my blogging and keeping track of just about everything else I’m doing. And I love to look at everyone elses journals too. I get so many ideas that i try to incorporate in my first bullet journal. But I am a messy, messy woman and my journal reflects that fact! No pretty doodles or drawings are in my journal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, as I explained in the post, anything is possible.
      Personally, I use it draft my blog posts, keep track of where I’ve shared them to (e.g Pinterest), blogging to-do’s (e.g guest posting, updating pages etc..) and planning and brainstorming my ideas.
      Putting tag to category, post to page, you to your bullet journal. I like to keep track of my stats, bookmarks and blog all in one bullet journal.

      It could be planning, note-taking or brainstorming tool and even all of them in one. It’s really just to help you blog. What images you need to take for your post, tags to include, research notes and anything you need.
      Bullet journalling is all about you. It doesn’t have to be for blogging. You could use it for fitness, finances or even food.

      So, I conclude, you put whatever you want in it as long as it helps you do whatever you want to do. Whether it’s your obsession with dancing, dolls or books a bullet journal does the job!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Elena Peters and commented:
    I am ashamed to admit that I am a very dis-organized blogger. Who am I kidding? I am not that together in any other aspect of my life either. You would think that once you hit midlife that you would have your crap together and have your life running on cruise control but heck no, not me.

    Thankfully, my kids are grown, and almost gone (:)), so my scattered brain does not get me too far off track in the running of my household and it was fine for years as a hobby blogger. But now that I have a viable business, I am afraid my laziness (yes, that is what it is at the root), is hurting me professionally and stealing away time from me personally.

    I vow to change that. I have decided that my word for 2017 will be organization and I am not waiting for the new year to start!

    I have been researching on Pinterest for days to find out all I can about bullet journaling. Wow, some people are obsessed!Everyone swears that it helps them keep on track so I am going to give it a go.

    I have bought a bright pink Leuchtturm1917 notebook, a ruler and a package of coloured pens. I have even created a few spreads already.

    I will keep you updated with my progress but in the meantime, please click through the link below and read how bullet journaling helped this blogger master their craft.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Though I also more of a paper person. But it becomes difficult for me to carry a journal everywhere compared to my mobile. So whenever I get any idea to write about I save it in my phone only.

    Like

  6. Hey, it was so nice to read this blog! I started to bullet journal around July 2016 and never looked back. Sometimes being a student it’s hard to set aside time to journal, but when I do, it makes me feel so much better for that day. What I have found hard however is keeping it looking nice. As a stationary addict and perfectionist, I follow about 20 different bullet journalists whose journals are all super stunning and damn. What I’ve come to realise is that my journal goes through neat and messy phases and I just have to accept it!
    If you have a mo please check out my blog, I’ve just written a post on New Years Resolutions and it would be so cool if you could check it out
    Keep Journalling!!
    xx

    Like

    • Bullet journalling will live on as a hobby forever more! Yes, I sometimes don’t get to write n my BuJo but when I do, I feel so much better and productive. Right now, my BuJo is literally just ink and words. I need to work on the pretty side of things. Would love to check out your blog, will do when I have a mo.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Had to pin this for later. I am really loving the idea of using a bullet journal. I am currently using a agenda and it has legit changed my life. My organization has gone up so much. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

