Mini Review | The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First Impressions

 

A funny, sad, mysterious, exciting and wonderful book.

People have recommended this book to me more times than I’ve eaten chocolate, and if you haven’t guessed, that’s a LOT.

I was really excited to crack open this spine of this book, stick my nose in, and find myself lost between the fresh, crinkled pages. I had heard so much about this book and trust me, none of the opinions had been negative. I went in with high hopes and closed the book with more than satisfaction,in fact, much more.

SYNOPSIS 

Christoper Boone is a 15-year-old boy who has Aspergers Syndrome. He hates the colours brown and yellow, people touching him and confusing things. He loves maths, physics and his pet rat. Living with a father and the death of his mother, Christopher stumbles across a dog, in the night-time, with a garden fork stabbed through him. Found hugging the dead dog, Wellington, Christopher sets out on an investigation to find out who killed Mrs Shears dog. During his detective journey, Christopher discovers much more than just the dog’s murderer but a whole load of secrets, lies and truths.

My Thoughts

I don’t understand people who say they don’t like Christopher because of how annoying he was, and the repeated maths problems and waffling.  He is such a nice character and great detective. It’s great to see the book through Christopher’s eyes and to see the struggles and perks of having Aspergers Syndrome. It’s also amazing to see how he deals with things. Instead of hugging his parents, he does some sort of a high five with his thumbs. He uses the number and colour of cars to determine his fate for that day. He detects like Sherlock Holmes (I’m a massive fan of BBC Sherlock and it was great to find out some interesting facts about the books and show!) He  writes the book so well and I really enjoyed reading the book from his perspective.

I also really liked the mystery. Some say it was predictable, but I didn’t guess a thing. I’m not going to spoil anything but the PLOT TWISTS in this were great and fun and unexpecting.

The way book was laid out was really interesting. The chapters were in prime numbers which  I found unique and a great addition.  I also liked how there were some diagrams, maths puzzles and other things scattered throughout the book.

This book was , all in all, amazing, funny, sad, and informative.

Sign Off

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mini Review | The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

