Review | Blink And You Die (Ruby Redfort #6) By Lauren Child *THE BEST FINALE & GREAT plot twists* + My First ARC(!!!)

From the author of Charlie and Lola, Lauren Child closes off the Ruby Redfort series with one last action-packed book and leaves readers begging for me.

Thank you for Netgalley for sending me an ARC copy of this book.

I’m proud to say I’ve read the whole Ruby Redfort series now and have been absolutely amazed by this finale.

Ruby Redfort started out as a made up book in the Clarice Bean series but eager fans wanted it to be real, for there to be an actual Redfort series. And so the six book deal with Harper Collins was made and this review came about.

Synopsis:

From Goodreads

Say goodbye to Ruby Redfort: every smart kid’s smart kid. The mind-blowing conclusion to the thrilling series by award-winning author Lauren Child.

Ruby Redfort: undercover agent, code-cracker and thirteen-year-old genius – you can count on her when the ice starts to crack.

All good things come to an end… Ruby Redfort is running scared, a whole bunch of people want her dead and worst of all one of them is on her team. But just who is this agent of doom?

You can run, Ruby, but you can’t hide…

First Impressions

This was my first ARC!! Can you believe it? I’d never thought my request would get accepted and when It did get accepted, I was ecstatic!! Reading a book before it’s been published? It was crazy, fun and exciting, especially since I had been waiting for this finale FOREVER!! I downloaded it straight away and began to read!

My thoughts

Plot-twists.

There were SO many plot-twists. seriously. Every page was filled with a new surprise: the mole, Bradley Baker, L.B, SO MUCH. And just when you thought you knew the answer, another plot twist would smack you in the face.

Sad?

These books haven never been ones to make you weep, there more the -edge-of-your-seat, who’s gonna die books. So, it was strange to see some tragic deaths in this book. But I liked it.

The villains

Evil in this book was EVIL. More sneaky plans, secrets and dastardly deaths. Though I would’ve loved to see more of the Count in this book and though the EVIL was nice, there wasn’t enough of it.

Mystery!!!

The mystery(ies) in this book were AWESOME! Ruby deals with them really well and is being a genius as always!! And her contact lenses and the mushroom mystery was JUST….

The end?

I can’t believe it’s the last in the series. While so many things were solved, there was a lot that wasn’t solved. I mean the Count didn’t die. There were so many questions from previous books that were supposed to be answered in this book. I was a little disappointed with the series as a whole. Though this book was really amazing!

Final Thoughts

The plot twists were what sold this book to me. I didn’t see half of them coming, to be perfectly honest. As my first ARC, I was extremely happy! Do I recommend it? No. What? Yes, but not as a stand alone. Please don’t read this book if you haven’t read the others. If you have, YES, YES, YES!!!!!!!!:D

Have you read Ruby Redfort? Do you want to? What’s your favourite mystery series? (SHERLOCK HOLMES) Do you like reading mystery novels? What book that you’ve read has had the most plot twists? TELL ME, I’d love to know!!

Sign Off

9 thoughts on “Review | Blink And You Die (Ruby Redfort #6) By Lauren Child *THE BEST FINALE & GREAT plot twists* + My First ARC(!!!)

  1. I’m obsessed with this series and you’re so lucky you got an ARC copy of it! Ruby Redfort Hardcover versions= slightly COSTLY, so hmm… will have to think about it. I heart your featured image 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEK! I know right! Yes, the hardback versions are pretty expensive! And THANK YOU! Seriously though GO READ IT WHEN YOU CAN. IT IS JUST AMAZING! I can’t stop ranting about how SHOCKING it was! I can’t wait till you read it so we can #fangirl together! Have you entered the competition @rubyrefort.com to win signed copies of the whole series?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Since September I couldn’t stop rambling on to my friends about how EXCITED yet SCARY I felt waiting for the release! Yes I have actually and eek, I mean the WHOLE series SIGNED by Lauren Child HERSELF? Chances are it’s not going to be me… but what’s the harm in trying, right? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • YAS!! Yes, I probably won’t bew winning that giveaway but you’re right, I’m in it to win it! I KNOW RIGHT! The whole series SIGNED!!! That would be so cool if either of us won!!! AND, you won’t be disappointed when you DO get round to reading it…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you tried the Spectrum test in Ruby’s room? Isn’t it just so HARD? Well, I’m not a genius like some thirteen year olds who don’t want to be geek-freaks *coughs*. And I think the whole toaster/fax machine that produces ACTUAL food is a brilliant idea. HOW did LC come up with it? And sorry, I’m using way too many capital letters but I can’t help it because it’s Ruby and Ruby is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all, I would like to congratulate you for getting an ARC of my fav series! You deserves it! Second, OMG!!!! I LITERALLY SCREAM WHEN I SAW THE TITLE!! I’m a HUGE HUGE fan of Lauren Child and Ruby Redfort! My first book of hers was Clarice Bean, Don’t Look Now. Thats when I met Ruby. Then my first Ruby Redfort book and also my favorite is Ruby Redfort Look Into My Eyes. I read the book so many times! I will never get bored of Ruby Redfort!! I’m in the journey to read all the Ruby Redfort series. I really love Ruby!! Oh and I never read this book before so you just lighten up my day to find the book. 😍😍
    P.S sorry! I sound like a crazy girl out of nowhere back there…😓😓 And congratulations!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, I was estatic when i recieved the ARC copy of it! This is actually the last in the series, book #6. I haven’t actually read any of the Clarice bean series yet but they are on my TBR! You really should read the rest of the series, they are awesome! And don’t worry, I love the Ruby Redfort books aswell!

      Liked by 2 people

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

