Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them | Movie Review

As you all know, I am a proud #POTTERHEAD. So, when I heard the news of the first of the Fantastic Beasts being released, to say I was ecstatic was an understatement. I wanted to see it as soon as I could and I did. Once I had the chance on a Saturday afternoon, I ventured to the cinema, grabbing some snacks on the way, and I enjoyed feeling the crumpled smooth (not to mention, ripped)  paper between my fingers.

first-impressions

When I heard about the movie, yes I was ecstatic, but there was underlying worry that it would be as disappointing as Cursed Child (review here). The nagging thought that anything other than 7 original HP books in the Wizarding world, would be rubbish and upsetting, was something I had to put to the back of my mind.I was so excited to see it as people had told me how wonderful it was, but people had also told me Cursed Child was good as well, and I hadn’t agreed with that…

synopsis

Newt Scamander is a wizard and loves to live with his Fantastic Beasts. He dreams of one day publishing a book all about his beasts, but for now, he is determined to make sure all his beasts, which live in the world inside his briefcase, are comfortable, happy & fed. Arriving in America, he has to accustom to the Wizarding laws in the different country and encounters many NoMags (Muggles), and the dangers rising in the US.

characters

Newt Scamander

Our main character is Newt Scamander. He’s actually a very likeable character. Unorganised, fascinated by beasts and very oblivious to the world. He seems to live in his own world with all these magical beasts as his friends & company. He states ‘people find him annoying’ but I find him quite a humorous character.

Tina & Queenie, Goldstein

The sisters had such opposite personalities. Queenie was charming and sweet whereas Tina was more practical and serious. I loved them both, but Tina had to be my favourite!

Jack Kowalski

This NoMag was one of my favourite characters. He was hilarious and funny. He added that extra bit of humour to the movie and made everything fun & sweet.

the-best-bits

  • The BEASTS! They were all so cute and enchanting and beautiful. I loved how they lived in this underworld in Newts’ briefcase. It was so magical and amazing.
  • Niffler. I know I shouldn’t really dedicate a whole bullet point to him but he is just so cute and such a thief, stealing all shiny things! But, he’s gonna have to share the bullet point with… Oh and Bowtruckle was amazing too and so CUTE! To look at some of the creatures, click me!

  • Related image
  • The action-packed scenes. Some movies just lack that oomph, that action,t hat excitement but this, this! This screamed in your face with exciting missions, vicious fights, and everything in between. At no point in that movie, I got bored.

the-not-so-good-bits

-No Mags? Really. Muggles sound so much better don’t you think? It’s a bit too obvious, just mash ‘no’ and ‘magic’ together and you get people with no magic. ‘Muggles’ has that mysterious feeling about it and NoMags is a little obvious.

-American Wizarding World(Laws). I did not like how the wizarding world was set out. Yes, England’s one wasn’t much better, I mean I wasn’t too fond of the Ministry Of Magic but this? THIS! This was pretty much rubbish as well..

-There were tonnes of storylines introduced at the beginning & I admit, I was a tiny bit confused. It was clever how they brought them all together and made it into one beautiful plot and movie. Not really a con, but hey I was running out of criticisms!

final-thoughts

All in all, it was an amazing movie. I have been blown away with how well it was put together, and the movie itself. The magical scenes, the beasts, the… everything was just amazing. After I came out of that cinema, I couldn’t stop thinking about it, the movie lingering in my head.

lets-ponder
A temporary graphic. I’m getting a new, final version designed soon so look out!

What did you think of Fantastic Beasts? Are you afraid to watch it, in case it will ruin the books? Read the book, better than the movie? Book or movie? Loved the movie? Agree with me? Disagree? Tell me what you thought and ponder away!

26 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them | Movie Review

  1. I seriously want to see this because NEWT SEEMS SO ADORABLE!! Buuut I haven’t even seen the original HP movies so.😂 I should probably do that as well. But I love the gifs and snippets I’ve seen of it so far and the magicalness looks amazing. Although I agree that “Nomag” is really kind of dumb bahah. Why couldn’t they be muggles too?!?

    Liked by 2 people

    • It was sooo good! It’s funny as well but really intruiging and I think you’d like it! I know, I know, the HP movies were okay movies, I enjoyed them. Bt Fantastic Beasts was just ASDFGHJKL! And if you do watch it, you’d be a bit annoyed with the American Wizarding Laws, hahah!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey!! I’m not a big fan of Harry Potter. But after watching this movie, it completely changed my mind!😱 The beasts is super super cute and I admit, the American Wizarding Laws are SOOOOOO ANNOYINGG. Oh, and have you read the book?

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

