Review (More like Fangirling!) – Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo -My Favourite Book Of 2017

 

six-of-crows

 

Image result for six of crows

Title: Six Of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: 5 Stars

 

Okay.

I tried to calm myself down, get out of this book hangover, and just generally stop fangirling so this review would make SOME sense* but I’ve waited too long**. So here it is. A review of my favourite book of 2017. Maybe my favourite book ever. Re-reading will decide that.

*pfft, when do my posts EVER make sense?
**1 and a half weeks is ‘long’ for me okay? I’m an impatient worm, OKAY?!

 

first-impressions-my-bookish-life

You know what? My first impressions were actually REALLY HIGH. You see, so many people had been blabbering about how good this book was and how the sequel left them begging for more, so I was expecting A LOT from this book.When I finally got my copy, I was squealing BECAUSE THE COVER.I could spend hours admiring this book cover. I opened the book and in I strode.

BUT, THEN, OF COURSE, THE MAPS. I have this obsession for MAPS. I love books with maps because a)fantasy b)detail c)magical!

characters-my-bookish-life

THE SIX OF CROWS

Kaz Brekker

OMG KAZ WAS SUCH AN EVIL AWESOME MASTERMIND. It took me a bit to get used to his snarky remarks, his wittiness and just in general just how awesome he was. But I really think we were supposed to like him and ya’ know, i did. He was so ‘cool’, and he played his cards VERY WELL. He was just so awesome I’m not really sure how I’m supposed to explain this.And also I think it was pretty cool that he has a disorder yet he still was so incredibly amazing. And he couldn’t touch people and he has a limp… yet he was still….GAHH!

Inej

Inej was…. I have mixed feelings. At first, I REALLY liked her and you know, I was like, ‘she’s a pretty cool character’. And then after a while, she got a little too perfect for my likings. It just fell flat for me. She had nothing SPECIAL about her. But that doesn’t give me any reasons NOT to like her since characters will be characters. It’s just that I don’t think her character was developed and she never did anything wrong. Is that realistic enough?

Nina

At first, I really didn’t like her but then… Oh, she was too witty and funny and just such a friendly character!! And she loved cake and she was so independent and…. gawd, she made me laugh!

Matthias

MATTHIAS. I didn’t love him, nor hate him. He was just a pretty deadly and vicious character. He seems to change his mind quite a lot, but I really like his personality but I wish he made up his mind more. Nevertheless, he was pretty unpredictable and I always looked forward to what he was going to next!

Wylan

Am I the only one who found Wylan to get a little bit cutely and hilariously annoying at times? But he just got a little too funny and dumb. I’m not even sure why he was part of the Six Of Crows but he definitely was a great addition. I’m not entirely sure if he just played the fool or what, but he was for sure a good character. I would’ve liked to see more of Wylan because I don’t think they focused on him too much.

Jesper

I almost forgot to add Jesper because… I don’t know. He just seemed a little irrelevant to me at times. I mean most of the other characters has great and detailed back stories so I just found that I glossed over anything about Jesper. Even Wylan had a bit more of importance in the book.

 

writing-my-bookish-life

I’m not even going to lie here, I was just thrown into this world. That’s why people say read the Grisha Trilogy first but *sigh* you know, me. I don’t like to miss a good book.Like I was a confused pineapple at first so I was finding it difficult to actually understand what the heck was going on. But, OMGGG, I LOVED it after the first few chapters and there was so much detail. IT WAS SO DETAILED. I REPEAT IT WAS SO DETAILED.

And the backstories!Pekka Rollins (want more of this!) and that story was awesome. I liked seeing why Kaz was the way he was and learning about Jordie was so awesome.People would say the details are a little unnecessary but I LOVED THEM! They just added some hidden meanings into the book and no, it DID NOT DRAG OUT. It was perfectly added into the story and added so much depth to the characters and why they did things.

plot-my-bookish-life

The Heist was so incredibly awesooommme!! It was like so action packed and complex and planned out and so GRIPPING. I didn’t get bored once with the whole idea. And though there were no major plot twists apart from the ending which kinda angered me, I loved it all! BUT THAT IS WHY I NEED TO READ CROOKED KINGDOM. WHO WANTS TO BUDDY READ?

final-thoughts-my-bookish-life

This review does not even get across half the emotions I had whilst reading. It was SO GOOD, I cannot put into words. SO GO READ IT. Okay. Of course, this is a 5 Stars. I need more of the characters, the world, the writing!BREATHE. INNN AND OUUUT!

Seriously READ THIS. Even if you don’t like fantasy, YOU WILL LOVE THIS. COME FORTH AND FANGIRL WITH ME NOW. Have you read Six Of Crows? Want to buddy read ‘Crooked Kingdom’ with me? READ IT NOW. I DEMAND YOU! Also, IS THERE GONNA BE A MOVIE?

Sign Off

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”
Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

 

“I’m a business man,” he’d told her. “No more, no less.”
“You’re a thief, Kaz.”
“Isn’t that what I just said?”

 

“Scheming face,” Inej murmured.
Jesper nodded. “Definitely.”

 

“The heart is an arrow. It demands aim to land true.”

35 thoughts on “Review (More like Fangirling!) – Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo -My Favourite Book Of 2017

  1. I’m SO GLAD you read this book, holy cow do I recommend this to everyone. This was seriously a gift to my TBR last year and we share a ton of the same sentiments about it! I still haven’t written a proper review of it, but when I do it’ll probably be mostly squealing and bouncing up and down because it is just. so. good.

    I seriously ADORED this book and Crooked Kingdom was even BETTER. Like, I read it when it came out, but I’d buddy read it again (especially because I still don’t have a review put together and planned to reread it anyway!) All of my sweet peaches improved as characters, especially Inej and Jesper. I’m eternally bummed it’s only a duology because I’d read their stories forever.

    Seriously, great review! It’s going to be hard to top this book this year, I’m telling you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh bloody hell…

    Okay,
    a. Your review is epic, because,
    b. It literally had me all excited and bubbly and I didn’t even know what the book was about, mind you.
    And now,
    c. Those QUOTES THOUGH! What.. what is this? Why are they so cool? And that last one? I could’ve sworn I actually felt my heart go all ‘woah’ with it.

    DEFINITELY getting that book on top of my priorities now thanks to you~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg YEEEEEEEES ❤ It's great, isn't it? I promise, you'll love it even more and fangirl and obsess over it more after reading Crooked Kingdom. Leigh Bardugo is one of my faaaaaaaaavorite authors. SO. AMAZING. GAAAAAAAAAAH.
    And yes, THE HEIST WAS SO AWESOOOOOOME. OMGGGGGGGG.
    Thankd for making me re-fangirl over this series again, Mahriya. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Okay. This was the saddest day of my life: I was waiting in line to get my copy of CK signed by Leigh, and I end up leaving because my family is SO IMPATIENT. But, the people behind me in line were last, and some girl runs up to them and gives them a VIP pass to cut the line, and I’m just like NO. NONONONO. 😦 😦 😦
        I know! Some people say it’s good, some say it’s bad, but I really want to read it anyways! (Although CK has a spoiler for it… 😦 )

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It sounds like you had a really great time reading this book. I’ve fallen out of books lately which is a real shame because I really really really love them. I can see I’m definitely going to have to check this book out for myself to see if it lives up to this review.
    Reading this review makes me want to evaluate it for myself. When you talked about it being very detailed my mind kind of shut down a bit simply because I have this inability to stay focused for long periods of time. When there’s a lot of explanation and back story that doesn’t pertain to the current event that I’m so focused on I find myself skipping those parts whether they’re impeccably done or not. I’m interested to see if the characters are engaging enough for me to want to force my brain to focus on the back stories that are provided or whether my eyes will skip fast enough for me to get back to the plot.
    Either way it does sound like a great read and I cannot wait to get my hands on it! You must have really loved it to call it your favorite book of 2017 when we’re barely two months in :P. I definitely trust your opinion in books so I will definitely be reading it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gah, reading slumps are the WORST. I’m so glad I got out of my huge slump from last year but it was hard to tackle it. I think that just read tiny snippets of books and finding a special time in the day to read really helps but everyone has their own way of getting out of their slump. Good luck!

      Hmmm yes, backstories and details. I think at first, it’s super confusing but you’ve got to get through the first few chapters to work out how everything is and then you’ll start to love it.

      As for the backstories, it is a hit or miss. Some people say they made it drag out but they ARE relevant to the characters. So in the actual action and story, it will mention names and things, and you’ll be like ‘what?’ and then, later on, there’ll be a short snippet of a past memory and things will start to click into place.

      The characters are definitely wonderful to read about, and I’m sure you won’t skip them because Bardugo plants a lot of questions and the backstories answer them for you. Also, they are implemented well and not too long and irrelevant.

      Liked by 1 person

    • wow. what? You’re like the first person I know who DIDN’T LOVE IT. Hmmm. I guess maybe it’s not your type of book but I wouldn’t give up on SUCH AN AWESOME BOOMASDFGHJKL. Push yourself to read more and more because I agree with you, it was so detailed and a lil’ confusing and I felt like putting it down.But like KEEP on reading it. the first chapter is misleading BECAUSE IT’S NOTHING ABOUT THE BOOK. And the chapters after that, don’t get to the heist. 3rd time lucky? Literally just FORCE YOURSELF to read the 7 chapters and then maybe you’ll get into it? (I’m literally begging you to read this because it’s so good but each to their own.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really hope you do read it and give it one more shot. And yes, the storyline, charcters, and everything in the first chapter DO NOT have anything to do with the book and not even mentioned again (barely). It just sets up some stuff (once you read more *nods*). I kind of found it hard to get into so the first few chapters can be misleading! But give it a shot…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I still haven’t read Six of Crows, everyone is always talking about how good it is though, and how amazing the characters are, so I know I need to get on it stat, but there’s always so many books to read!!! Also, Throne of Glass left a mehish taste in my mouth, and I’ve been a bit cautious about super hypey books ever since.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. THIS SERIES IS LIKE MY FAVOURITE OF EVER OMGGGGG I CANNOT EVEN WITH HOW MUCH I LOVE IT. 😍😍 And I 100% agree about Inej. She was actually a little self-righteous? And that got tiring. I like her, but don’t love her. haha. KAZ IS LIFE. ❤ Then my next favourite is Nina, then Jesper and Wylan and then Matthias. Nina and her love of food gives me life.😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m pretty hard to impress when it comes to YA, but holy CRAP did I love this book. I haven’t liked a YA book this much in years, let alone have one jump to the top of my favorites list! So reading about how much you liked this book…I relate:D

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

