Review – Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Now My Favourite Duology Ever

The Six Of Crows Duology is officially my favourite duology in the whole universe because I love it so much!

22299763

Title: Crooked Kingdom
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: 5 Stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See that red, ugly thing on the floor. That’s my heart. YES, this book literally ripped me to pieces because of the tragic happenings yet I LOVED IT SO MUCH – how is this possible.? The paradox of CK!

So I actually waited a month before posting this review a) I needed to collect my thoughts b) I was really busy and c) Procrastination. But I’ve finally managed to write some sort of review that makes some sort of sense. If you haven’t already, read my Six Of Crows review, the first book in the series. And if you haven’t read the books, then maybe you shouldn’t be reading this. There are mild spoilers, so be warned.


 

Crooked Kingdom
I actually took this picture myself! #proud

 

synopsis-my-bookish-life

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

Synopsis from Goodreads

first-impressions-my-bookish-life

Okay, unlike Six Of Crows, I purchased this book because my library was being annoying and I couldn’t find it. I simply could not wait a second more to be back with Kaz and his crew, so with one look at the GORGEOUS cover, I brought it. I’m going to admit, I had very high expectations. Six Of Crows was so BEAUTIFULLY TWISTED that I hoped for CK, to be even MORE WONDERFULLY STABBY.

 

plot-my-bookish-life

The plot was a lot more complex than Six Of Crows. It wasn’t a heist exactly, but more just Kaz’s revenge and I have to say I loved every minute of it! It was fast-paced, action-packed, murder filled and exactly what I needed. As always, everything isn’t as simple as it seems – to rescue and Inej and get their reward. So many things go wrong and I LIKE THAT because it makes it so much more realistic and dark. I love how Bardugo manages to use her dialogue to make the book even more full of twists and turns and I just couldn’t stop reading.

 

characters-my-bookish-life

The characters were all so AMAZING AND DEVELOPED and I LOVED EVERY MINUTE of them.

  • KAZ 

Just wonderfully evil. He is by far my favourite evil villain! I wish to be an evil mastermind like him one day because HE IS SO CLEVER AND WONDERFUL. Did I mention he’s evil? And his schemes just get EVEN better like, what? How is he so intelligent? But I also love that we got to see more of his twisted childhood, I mean *cries* Jordie and Pekka Rollins. GAH, the feels.

  • INEJ

I actually liked Inej WAHEY more in this book. Her character developed and we got to find out more about her previous life. AND SHE *mild spoiler* she’s reunited with her parents!!!  How sweet is Kaz?

  • WYLAN

Yes, MORE OF HIS STORY TOO. I loved Wylan to bits, he’s such an awesome, wonderful character? AND *spoiler* HIS MUM – omg, to see him suffer. OMG, Wylan was soooooo awesome. And sneaky as well. And forgiving. GAH, HE IS SO AMAZING.

  • JESPER

Go Jesper and his dad! HIS DAD WAS SO AWESOME, I LOVED HIM. I definitely liked Jesper but again, i feel like he was left out? Like is this just me?? Everyone else was like all dark and completely OWNED the book and then Jesper’s just there, like ‘Oh Hi. I like MURDER – bye’.

  • MATTHIAS

I’m not going to spoil anything for you but the tears, and omg, MATTHIAS! He. Is. The. Best. HOW DO I EVEN? Speechless. Tissues needed.

  • NINA

I LOVED NINA. Her quirkiness, friendship with Inej and everything else was to die for. She just lightens up the book so much more and makes me LAUGH SO MUCH — she’s too funny to be true!! SHE’s SO SWEET!

writing-my-bookish-life

Can I just drown in all the details, please? The writing had again, so much more backstories, hints, history – I’m surprised I drank it all in. Leigh Bardugo is officially one of my favourite authors. I don’t know how she does it. Her writing so magical AND THE DIALOGUE – gawd, I can’t even. It’s like so dark and deep and the feels ❤

 

 

final-thoughts-my-bookish-life

IS THIS REALLY THE END? *WAILS FOR ETERNITY*. I WANT SO MUCH MORE OF THE GRISHAVERSE AND THESE CHARACTERS – and everything. How will I live without Nina’s love for food, Matthia’s gentle nature, Kaz’s evil schemes, Inej’s strong heart, Wylan’s wonderful personality, Jesper’s love for the thrill? HOW WILL I? DO you want me to feel like I’m being tortured? GAH, what will I fangirl over now?


“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.”

 

“Has anyone noticed this whole city is looking for us, mad at us, or wants to kill us?”
“So?” said Kaz.
“Well, usually it’s just half the city.”

 

“Have any of you wondered what I did with all the cash Pekka Rollins gave us?”
“Guns?” asked Jesper.
“Ships?” queried Inej.
“Bombs?” suggested Wylan.
“Political bribes?” offered Nina. They all looked at Matthias. “This is where you tell us how awful we are,” she whispered.”

 

“No mourners, no funerals. Another way of saying good luck. But it was something more. A dark wink to the fact that there would be no expensive burials for people like them, no marble markers to remember their names, no wreaths of myrtle and rose.”

 

“Don’t worry, Da. People point guns at each other all the time in Ketterdam. It’s basically a handshake.”

 

wp-1483874913660.png

Have you read this duology? Who’s your favourite author? DON’T YOU JUST LOVE ALL THE CHARACTERS AND DETAILS? Anyone else fangirling over this wonderful, beautiful book? Have you read The Grisha Trilogy – because I want to read it?! What’s your favourite quote?

Sign Off

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Review – Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Now My Favourite Duology Ever

  1. AAAAGGGHHHH YOU MAKE ME WANT TO REREAD THE WHOLE DUOLOGY AGAIN!!! And apparently Leigh’s name is pronounced “LEE” and not “LAY” like I thought??? This is going to be strange.

    Mahriya dear, I’m pretty sure everyone can guess what happens to Matthias based on your little description of him. XD But come, come, let us cry together. *hands tissues and mangoes*

    The characters honestly are the best part for me omg. Like they’re so great??? I want to make characters as complex as them one day. And YES learning more about theur backstories is so cool! Leigh’s writing DEFINITELY is amazing.

    I might read the Grisha trilogy but I’m not sure??? For one I’m not really in the mood to read first person, because I REALLY prefer third person (even though I just read a ton of books in first person???) AND I heard some not so good things about it again and I’m just like weeeeeeell. Plus we already know what happens to Alina, as spoiled by CK???

    Also I just now noticed the Hamilton reference in one of the quotes. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW. I’ll have to read in the future, after I’ve got over this book hangover.
      WHAT, I thought it was ‘LAY’ too. My whole life is ruined.
      I know, I couldn’t bring myself to say what happened to beloved Matthias *tears*. I know, their personalities are all so amazing and complex?
      I KNOW. I was thinking of buying The Grisha Triology but people said it’s really childish compared to Six Of Crows and way too simple – and that doesn’t sound too appealing. And yes 1st person fantasy??? But Leigh’s work is always wonderful, isn’t it?
      YES, Alina’s story was mentioned in Six Of Crows at the beginning so I don;t know?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Apparently it’s not and now the world has turned upside down.
        (Dang it you’re not a Hamilfan. *cries* XD )

        *chokes on sobs* I actually didn’t cry over that. But HEY I CRIED OVER FOUR OTHER BOOKS SO AT LEAST I’M NOT COMPLETELY HEARTLESS???

        Yeah that’s what I heard too. I mean it sounds interesting, but not very well written??? And I think in CK, someone (Inej probably?) said something about Alina dying which is like… Well. Guess I know what happens now.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You haven’t read the trilogy yet? :O Well, the first book was amazing, but the two others suffer a bit from the sequel syndrome of decreasing awesomeness. I think what somewhat saved them was the fact that the Grisha concept is so cool that the magic of that kept them from completely flopping since there’s so much you can do with it. I’d say go for it, if anything to know what happened. You might enjoy yourself, or not XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! People say read the Grish triology first but I couldn’t stop myself – before i knew it, I was eating up the duology and falling in love with the characters! I think I MIGHT take a risk with the Grisha books but I don’t want them to steal the magic off the Six Of Crows Duology. I’ll have to see

      Like

      • Loool. I probably would have done the same if I had found about the books post SoC. SoC is like Leigh took all the awesomeness from the trilogy and put it in a better package. I hope you do enjoy it! I remember loving the books but the third book is kinda meh, except for the end, which some people weren’t that into, but to me, it was perfect. So, it does depend a bit on your own personal tastes!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. An evil main character????? *frantically scribbles book name on TBR list* I have GOT TO read this!!!!! And the picture with the books is really cool btw… (What’s that book with ‘R.L.Stine’ on it??)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OH MY GOODNESS I HAVE SIX OF CROWS JUST SITTING ALL ALONE AND NEGLECTED ON MY BOOKSHELF AND I NEED TO READ IT AND I’M SO SO EXCITED AND ARGH BECAUSE THE HYPE.
    Glad you liked it 😉
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Just wonderfully evil.” OMG so true about Kaz! All of the characters are SOO good in this series, I want 20 books with them. Alas, all good things must come to an end (but do they?? Because this shouldn’t). I’m so so happy you loved this duology as much as I did, and definitely check out the Grisha trilogy. It’s not quite as fantastic as SoC and CK, but you could finally understand my love for Nikolai Lantsov. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      • Overall, I liked the Grisha trilogy as a whole, but they definitely don’t come without flaws. (I have reviews for all of them, ayy shameless self promo!) There is a certain male character that annoys the crap out of me, but then there are other great characters to compensate. If you love the Grisha universe and Bardugo’s writing, I do think they’re worth the read.

        Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

