A Bookish Wrap-Up April – In which I organise

I think I might be turning into somewhat of an ‘organised’ person. It’s weird.

April was ACTUALLY quite a good month compared to the rubbish March – I actually DID stuff and PLANNED stuff. And yes, I ORGANISED stuff. *claps*. I’m pretty proud of myself for this month because I accomplished quite a lot and procrastination only visited a few times! I did miss it a bit, but I’m glad my workload is becoming smaller and smaller!

A Bookish April Wrap Up

BOOKS

*RTC – REVIEW TO COME

READ

I did only manage to read 4 books (though I’m sure I read more, I just can’t remember what?) and I think that’s okay. It’s not exactly what I wanted but I was quite busy this month (I guess?) so it’s fine??? Okay, I’m pretty disappointed with that amount.

Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.26.15.png

ARC’s/E-Books

The History of Hillary Hambrushine – 2.5  stars.

I received this as an ARC and I thought it was ‘okay’. The storyline was typical and so unoriginal; likewise for the characters. It was funny at points but it just wasn’t for me.

Borrowed

Replica by Lauren Oliver – 3.5 Stars.

As my first read by Lauren Oliver,  I enjoyed the book. I liked Gemma’s story a little better but in general, I liked the book. Not one of the best, but not the worst.

Divergent by Veronica Roth – 5 stars (RTC)

I genuinely thought I’d gone off Dystopias forever but turns out I HAVEN’T! The writing style was simple but I LOVED and read it 1 or 2 sittings, and that shows how amazing it is.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – 3.5 Stars (RTC)

Inkheart was GREAT and the fantasy in it was just AMAZING and the characters too though it wasn’t AS exciting as I wanted it to be. I liked it definitely but it got very boring at points and didn’t hook me. A wonderful read, though I found myself struggling to turn the page at some points.

The London Eye Mystery – 3 Stars

It was a wonderful mystery and reminded me of The Curious Incident In The Night Time. Pretty good and a quick read.

 

Added To TBR

Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.59.07Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.59.24Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.40.20Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.40.26Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.42.27Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.42.33Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.42.49Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.42.39Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 15.42.44

 

 

 

 

  • Queens Of Geek (A Very Hyped Book)
  • Unhooking The Moon (Recommended by Sasha @ The Stylish Dreamer)
  • The Muse (Inspired by my wonderful sister)
  • Vicious (the author, fantasy, what else?)
  • Strange The Dreamer (I JUST MUST READ NOOOOW)
  • Rebel Of The Sands (the blurb sounds AMAZING)
  • The Girl Of Ink And Stars (look at that COVER)

Bought

  • Eragon (my brother recommended this to me and of course, it’s fantasy)
  • The Hobbit (Fantasy and I might as well)
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society (Recommended by Megan @ A Barefoot Gal)

Watching

Rogue One – I’m not a massive fan of Star Wars and have never watched all of them or anything like that but I decided to watch Rogue One. It wasn’t an AMAZING movie but It was okay? I guess.

The Book Thief – I definitely shed some tears watching this movie. Taking a spin on World War 2, I got to see into the life of what it was like to live amongst such hatred in Germany and how anti-Semitism affected so many lives. It was truly a heart-breaking movie that I will always love.

I also re-watched some of The Diary Of A Wimpy Kid movies which were great fun!

Catching Up

Bullet Journal – I told you last month I got a Bullet Journal and I am so happy to say that this is actually why I’m being so organised! I’ve done a bullet journal before, but have never been as committed. It’s fun and wonderful and SO SATISFYING. Maybe I should do a post on this?

A Flexible Schedule – I know I hate schedules but I have made a flexible schedule consisting of what types of posts I should post during a month to ensure I don’t go off track.

Science Museum– I went to the science museum (for the 100th time) and It was loads of fun. I ended up seeing the 3d IMAX screening of Robots and it was quite interesting!

Lots of desserts – After the museum, I got a milkshake which was lovely and on the first of April, I celebrated a birthday by visiting a dessert restaurant and had an ice cream sundae. These were obvious highlights.

Online News

 

 

Blog Love

Trending

Book Blogger Awards

Types Of ReadersCrooked Kingdom

Next month

  • A Bullet Journal Post –> Maybe?
  • A Fantasy Feast – TinyReviews
  • Why Do you Buy A Book? – Dreams & Discussions
  • The Typewriter Project — Perhaps.

 

wp-1483874913660.png

How was YOUR April? What books did you read? What were some of your highlights? What are you looking forward to in May? Any posts you loved from other people or your own blog? Were your productive this month? And do you Bullet Journal too? Link me to your wrap-up posts in the comments below!

Sign Off

79 thoughts on “A Bookish Wrap-Up April – In which I organise

  1. NOOOOO WHY WAS THIS SO SHOOOOOOORT. And I’m glad you read and enjoyed Divergent! Also jsyk I cried over Allegiant. Even though I knew the ending. Have fun.

    YES BUJO POST YES BUJO POST. Btw I’ve decided to start my oen BuJo… in January 2018. 🙂 I’m planning on getting all the supplies and getting it ready??? Don’t worry. I can wait half a year. I think.

    I would linke my recap post but 1) you’d probably have already read it, 2) I POST MY WRAP-UPS WHEN THE MONTH IS ACTUALLY OVER (aka me trying ti finish a book in the last few days if the month), and 3) I haven’t written it yet. Duh.

    Yay a flexible schedule! Also yay for desserts! Double yay for the Typewriter Project! Why am I so happy! Something’s wrong! Yay!

    Liked by 3 people

    • It was short? Oh, sorry.Yeah, someone spoiled the ending for me – so, aha, there goes that luck. THAT IS SO FAR AWAY – Like more than half a year but it’s fun getting the supplies. Haha, okay – I’d read your post anyway but it’s fun for other people stalking the comments? I usually never post my wrap-up this early but I was scared I’d procrastinate and got it over and done with. YAY for everything, I’m so excited for next month.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah, I still cried. And I knew… um, Padfoot was gonna die in HP, BUT I STILL CRIED. I knooooow. But I won’t have time to make it in June or July (writing and vacation). Then in August school starts again. I guess I could have it ready for August??? But IDK. There’s something about starting fresh with the new year. And ohhhh, I see. Very thoughtful of you to acknowledge the comment stalkers. I’M EXCITED TOO. SCHOOL LETS OUT FOR ME NEXT MONTH. *cheers forever*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I AM ABOUT TO READ THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS TOO😱❤️ And I so agree with the cover of it! 😍 And yes yes yes to a bullet journal post- I just know it would look amazing, especially with book themed things in it!! And thank you so much for mentioning my DIY stickers post!! I’m so glad you like itt ❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Okay so I had so many comments on the books you said but I’m going to have trouble remembering them all now aaaaah.
    I loved inkheart and read it in one day but I don’t really remember it now I just know I liked it!!
    Divergent was AMAZING and I’m so glad you feel the same way.
    Someone recommended The Mysterious Benedict Society and I’m 2nd that. It was SO SO SO SO GOOD!! One of my favorite series when I was younger.
    4 books is still pretty good even if it’s not the best, and you’re all organized and stuff now so that’s really good!!! It sounds like you had an awesome month yay!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. OMG this is soooo awesome!!! I LOVED all of your posts this month and I can’t wait to read the blog posts that you are going to publish in March! Especially the book review! Also! I HAVE to add Queens of Geek and Replica to my TBR list ASAP! They both sound amazing!😍 also it feels sooo good to be back in the blogosphere even if it is only for a few hours haha…I have so much to catch up on! I can’t wait! 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve always wanted to bullet journal… But uugghhh I just don’t seem to manage it. I had actually planned for the ‘letters to myself’ book to be my bullet journal, but I gave up on the idea a while after I got by the first page. Any tips to get past that? And thanks for linking with my posts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. APRIL WAS PRETTY DECENT. I’ve read 4 books, but I’m still counting on the Dewey’s 24 hour readathon to help me squeeze in another book into my wrap-up (29th April-30th April) My mini journal has been crying since March, and since I’m a very bad person*villainous,even*, I haven’t taken it seriously, but I’m trying to bring it back from the dead soon 😂 Also, I love the wrap-up posts you do, Mahriya (can I call you Riya? pleaaaaseeeee? 😻)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad April went okay for you, and a 24 hour readathon – that sounds stressful *sweats at the thought of it* 😀 Haha, I’m villanous too (well, I hope I am) but I could never abandon my BuJo. Well, that’s a lie. My first Bullet Journal was pretty much unused, so…Good luck with rising your journal from the dead. Thank you! they take so long to write though, and OMG that is such a cool name – call me Riya (I really like that)

      Liked by 1 person

      • YAAAYY! RIYAAAA!! 💛💛 I’m not sure if I’ll be reading more than a book though, because the book I’ve chosen is a classic. Well, you know the thing with classics, right? They’re kinda dense. But I still hope that I can finish at least a book! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Classics are sooooo dense and like you have to to read them really slowly and like focus on each word to understand what is going on. (or is that just me) Still reading for so long seems very PANICY. Like I can do it sometimes, without realising but I don’t know If I could do it on purpouse – especially with a classic.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Looks like you had a pretty good reading month!! I’ve been curious about bullet journals for a while, so maybe someday! I’m looking forward to your ‘why you buy a book’ post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I bought The Girl Of Ink and Stars AGESSSS ago and I still haven’t read it! This post reminded me I had it in my possession😂😂
    And I just need to take a moment to appreciate this post that you do every month, it takes skill to get a monthly wrap-up post right and interesting!! And I love the Blog Love section, it really helps me check out other amazing bloggers, plus it’s just a really nice thing to do😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I recently added Queens of Geek to my TBR as well because I’ve heard the most amazing things about it. I’m a little nervous to read it because of all the hype though! I also REALLY want to read Strange the dreamer but I haven’t read her other books yet so I kind of want to read them first! Congrats on your organisation this month!<3

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “The Girl Of Ink And Stars (look at that COVER)” OMG THATS WHAT WENT THRU MY HEAD AS I SAW IT OMGGGGGG *shocked emoji*
    how are you organized??? is there a fee you have to pay or??
    ^also spelling it with an s makes me uncomfortable
    AND YES
    YOU READ
    DIVERGENT
    *screams into the fangirl abyss*
    and yet another post dedicated to ME, april. i’m honored

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh I’m sorry to hear Replica was just an average book for you – I do hope you’ll want to read more books from the author, though, she’s one of my favorites ❤
    I hope you'll have a lovely month!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YES FOR BULLET JOURNALS! I recently started one at the start of April and I’m in love with it despite sucking at art and being jealous of everyone else’s spreads. (AKA you should most definitely do a post on it haha) I really want to get more supplies though, I always see beautiful art pens and things everyone uses for their BuJo and I WANT. 😉

    Strange the Dreamer is on my TBR as well!! I can’t wait to read it. Rebel of the Sands is a really good book as well. ❤ And I only read 5 books this month, so I feel you! April had been super busy for me. Hope May goes well for you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • OKAY, I will! I started this April too so I haven’t got too many supplies either. I’m just using what I have at the moment which are some Inky black pens and regular coloured biros – nothing too fancy. I have only a few tapes of washi tape – so I really need to restock! I mean, compare to other people, My Bullet Journal is SO NOT FANCY and GOSH, the ones you see on Pinterest are JUST UNBELIEVABLE. I REALLY want to read Strange The Dreamer. I literally got Rebel Of Th Sands from the library today so fingers crossed. April has been busy, hope May is wonderful for you too!

      Liked by 1 person

      • 🙈 No pressure, of course! I’m glad to hear it though ahah. Oh it’s a relief I’m not the only one without as many fancy supplies haha, here’s hoping we both get some more sooner or later! Ahhh same! I mean I tried??? I have a post on my bullet journal scheduled but I honestly feel like mine is so underwhelming in comparison to all the Pinterest ones and I am very very nervous haha. I’m sure yours is lovely!! 💞
        Oh yay!! Here’s hoping! Thank you so much. 😘😊

        Liked by 1 person

  13. The Book Thief. THAT FILM. THOSE FEELS. *uncontrollable sobbing*
    I love the Diary of a Wimpy Kid films! I haven’t read the books but I love the Rodrick Rules film.
    Simi 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, my book reading friend. The book is 20x better than the movie. The movie could not incorporate the small details of each relationship. I read it because I saw on one of John Green’s You Tube clips that he thought it was the best book of the year on year. It is definitely one of my favorite books. I will warn you that it’s a little slow for a couple of chapters, but it gets way better.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. It sounds like you had a great month and that you read some great books! I can’t wait to see what you think about The Mysterious Benedict Society – it was one of my favorite books when I was younger. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous recap! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  15. You didn’t like Rogue One?!!! As a massive Star Wars nerd that toally hurts me! I’m glad you enjoyed Inkheart (even though you only gave it 3.5), I’ve been meaning to read it lately. Have you seen the movie?
    Also, it would be really cool to see a bullet journal post from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rogue One was okay, I guess? It just didn’t evoke any emotion in me, and was a little disappointing. I’ve never watched the actual Star Wars films so maybe that’s why? I feel like ratings are different for everyone, so my 3.5 means it was actually a book I really liked? So, for me, that’s not ‘only’ that’s ‘good’ but with some aspects I didn’t like. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I will be posting a BuJo post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t worry, I totally get it, I wasn’t even going to see it but the rest of my family was going so I tagged along. I walked in with no expectations, heck I didn’t even know the main chick’s name, so I figure that’s why I enjoyed it soo much. I have a similar rating system, it’s just hard to tell sometimes because rating systems can be soo different. Can’t wait to see your BuJo post!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Congrats on being organized!!!!! *feels proud* Because I have been procrastinating A LOT lately… And I’ve read the whole lnheritance cycle… Although I did find the starting of Eragon just a bit boring… But it gets sooo much better after the starting… And Divergent aaahh!!!! Tell me what you think after finishing all 3 books… Because I really didn’t get a chance to talk about it to someone *suppresses inner book nerd trying to bawl* I wanted to say something else but I forgot *has a goldfish moment* So I’ll stop rambling now?😅

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Well, you know about my April. 😐 I was so intrigued when you said you were getting more organised! How in the world did you do it? Please share tips because I’m the worst procrastinator in the world and I’m struggling to get back to normal after my hiatus. So help, pretty please?
    Also, so glad you picked up The Hobbit! I love anything by Tolkien and it’s quite simple and much less dark compared to The Lord of the Rings, but still a great adventure story. I love book Bilbo! He’s just adorable. ❤
    I read Inkheart when I was in school and I really enjoyed it then. The book series is much better than the movie for sure. It was one of the initial fantasies I read. Actually, so is Eragon. However, if you’ve read a lot of fantasy, it won’t strike you as particularly original, but still entertaining enough, I guess. I just didn’t care for the last book though. It was a let down for me.
    Finally, I’m so glad you’re doing so well with journalling! I thought about keeping a daily journal, but I have no idea where to start. I’m also aesthetically challenged (I can’t draw) and I keep seeing extremely pretty journals on Pinterest and it scares me. You should definitely do a post on that!
    Have a lovely and productive May and good luck with the Typewriter Project! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

