The Magician’s Workshop (V1 & V2) Review

unnamed

Rating: 4 Stars
Title: The Magician’s Workshop
Author(s): Chris Hansen and J.R Fehr

For my second Review Request, I was pretty happy with these two volumes of magic and mayhem.

Welcome to this month’s review! I got this book(s) for free from the lovely co-authors,  Chris Hansen and J.R Fehr, and I was delighted! It took me a) so long to read them and b) so long to actually write the review. Nevertheless, the authors were very kind and allowed me all the time in the world.

themagiciansworkshop

synopsis-my-bookish-life

Everyone in the islands of O’Ceea has a magical ability: whatever they imagine can be brought into existence. Whoever becomes a master over these powers is granted the title of magician and is given fame, power, riches, and glory. This volume of books follows the journey of a group of kids as they strive to rise to the top and become members of the Magician’s Workshop.

From Goodreads

first-impressions-my-bookish-life

The blurb definitely intrigued me. But also, my personal goal of reading more ARC’s was definitely a factor. I mean it had MAGIC so obviously, I was going to read it. I had also never read a book by TWO authors so I was interested to see it what it was like. But, to be perfectly honest, i didn’t have much of an idea of what I was going to read.

plot-my-bookish-life

The plot was the one things that really hooked me to this series. The whole idea of ‘colours’ and everything else sounded promising. I ended up loving the premise of the book. While the first volume kept me begging for answers, the second volume was filled with all the action and consequences. There were about 5 major plots included in the book which was confusing at first. There were simply a lot of storylines to keep track of which I guess was a good and bad thing at the same time. I love how they intertwined and how the plots merged at some points.

 

writing-my-bookish-life

The writing style didn’t appeal to me much. It was simple and definitely easy to read but it lacked character? I felt it was too plain compared to the complexity of the plot. And perhaps too childish for me. It wasn’t something I adored, but I didn’t mind it too much. Though I wished it captured the magical aspect just a little more. However, it kept me very hooked into the story. I just didn’t feel as involved.

The pace seemed a little disjointed at some points. some parts would stretch out and then I felt some parts went a little too quickly. I think the writing let me down the most.

characters-my-bookish-life

There were SO many characters so I won’t be going into detail but I think I loved them all. The friendships were real and the problems they had were SO REAL. Some characters wore confident, some were anxious, and I loved the variety of them. The Dilemmas and relationships were all JUST SO PERFECT and LOVED IT. I think the characters were the most wonderfully crafted things and just simply to die for!! ❤ 

final-thoughts-my-bookish-life

I give 4 stars. It was good, and I liked it but somethings were just lacking. It’s a wonderful, refreshing read and I loved most minutes of it. The emotions developed, the plots explored, it was a great read. It’s not a MUST READ but if you find yourself with a bit of spare time, then maybe you should pick this up. It’s a wonderful series and I can’t wait to return to the magical world again!

TheMagician'sWorkshop

wp-1483874913660.png

Do you love everything magic related? What’s more important, writing, plot or characters? Have you ever read this book? Do you want to? How was this post and tell me what you think of multiple plots? Have you ever read a book by two authors?

Sign Off

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Magician’s Workshop (V1 & V2) Review

  1. I love books with magic, they’re really fun to read for an escape. As much as I love magic, I most likely won’t read these books because of the five plots going on at the same time, my brain can only handle two/

    Like

  2. Do you love everything magic related?: YES OF COURSE I DO.
    What’s more important, writing, plot or characters?: Definitely characters for me. I’ll probably do a post on this, but if you don’t care about the characters, you don’t care about the story or what happens to them. If the characters annoy you, you’ll probably DNF it! If the plot’s boring and the characters are amazing, you still might stick to it because the characters are just THAT great.
    Have you ever read this book?: Nope. 🙂
    Do you want to?: Maybe??? It seems a little MG-ish to me, and I’M JUST ON A YA ROLL HERE.
    How was this post and tell me what you think of multiple plots?: THIS WAS A GREAT POST THAT WAS TOO SHORT AND IDK ABOUT MULTIPLE PLOTS. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Have you ever read a book by two authors?: I probably have but I forgot. 😉

    Like

  3. The plot of the book sounds great and I think the fact that it’s written by two authors is really cool too! I have actually read a few books that two authors have written and they were all really lovely. I think it’s really interesting to see how two wonderful creative people come together to form one great story. I think characters are very important in a book because even if the plot isn’t that good I love seeing the characters learn and grow and just become better human beings haha…This was an awesome review!! 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

