Writing In Different Perspectives | The What, The How and The Creativity

With perspectives, you can be as creative as you like.

This is Lia from Lost In A Story and I’m here to talk about perspectives for The Typewriter Project! First things first, I’m not a very experienced writer (I am a very experienced reader though) so don’t think that everything I say is truth and that you must think the same, but I’d like to think you’ve learned something anyway after reading this post.


 
Note: I published this post a little too early so I rescheduled it for today. I’m so sorry for the inconvenience of this and I hope you will enjoy this post!

Perspectives

WHAT IS A PERSPECTIVE?

 

A perspective, or narrative, or point of view (POV) is basically from whose eyes you are experiencing the story. 

Narration is important because your story can’t do without it. You don’t have a story without a narration. The reason for it being so important is that it can set the tone of your story. 

Screenshot 2017-04-14 at 13.22.50

THE DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVES

There are three different basic perspectives –>

  • first person
  • second person
  • third person

Of these the first and third person are most used, there are some books or stories written from the second person but those are rare.

First person narrative –>

This narrative means you see everything from the eyes of one character, who is referred to as “I” or “me”. This means that the main character is telling the story him/herself.

The second person narrative –>

This perspective uses “you” to describe the person whose eyes you see everything from, and this usually implies that you yourself are part of the story.

The third person narrative–>

This narrative has a narrator that is not part of the story, it uses “he/she/it” to describe what is going on. For the third person, there is another option, which is the omniscient or all-knowing narrator. This narrator basically looks over the situation as a god and knows everything that is happening.

Screenshot 2017-04-14 at 13.22.50

HOW TO BE CREATIVE?

Creative perspectives are usually hard to do, but when done well they can be amazing.

Pick someone/something else (not the main character) as the narrator.

One idea is writing a book from the perspectives of animals such as Sirius by Jonathan Crown which is written from the perspective of a dog.

EXAMPLES: 

  • The Book Thief Markus Zusak

This a well-known example of course as this book is written from the perspective of Death itself. In this book, Death is sort of an all-knowing narrator, since he oversees everything.

  • The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

This is another example in which the book is not only narrated from the main characters’ perspectives but also tells stories of the people around them. This brings so much more depth to the story, then when it would have simply been first/third person. 

An unreliable narrator.

An unreliable narrator is obviously a narrator that you can’t trust; their credibility is compromised. For the reader, this means that they will never know for sure whether what is narrated is actually what is happening. It will make you wonder, feel confused and can, therefore, add a lot of mystery to the story. Most of these characters are perceived as being reliable, until a certain point when the reader will find out they were never really reliable or it will make them wonder whether they were reliable or not.

EXAMPLES:

  • The Darkroom of Damocles by Willem Frederik Hermans
  •  The Boy Who Saw Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke
  •  We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

The disabled/eccentric/disordered narrator.

With this, I mean a narrator who is, for example, Schizophrenic or has a behavioural disorder(?) like ASD. I personally love these type of characters because they show a view of the world that is often very different from my own experience.I’m still waiting on a book written from the perspective of a blind person because that would just be so interesting to read!

EXAMPLES:

  • Winter from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (suffers from Lunar Sickness)
  • Christopher from The Curious Incident of the Dog in Night-Time by Mark Haddon (has autism and “writes” the book from his eccentric perspective)
  • Room by Emma Donoghue (child’s perspective)

Screenshot 2017-04-14 at 13.22.50

HOW TO CHOOSE?

What you choose to do is something that entirely comes back to you and what you want to write about.

Take into account all the ways in which it will influence your story, but choose something that comes easily to you. Writing from the perspective of a different animal in each scene might seem fun, but if it doesn’t work for you, it doesn’t work.

Whatever you end up choosing, it is very likely to affect your story a lot. Your narration will always change the way a scene is seen. The character’s personality and emotions play a large part in this. Your world (this world) looks a bit different from that of every other human being on this planet, the same applies to characters.

A happy curious character will most likely not see a dark alley as being scary, but instead as something intriguing to discover. What is important to whatever point of view or narration you choose is that you know your character well enough to be able to see the story from their point of view.

What is more important is to decide to which narration to go with. There are many options and what fits best really depends on your story. 

FIRST PERSON

This gives something extra if you don’t want the reader to know everything about everyone. Recommendation  –> Contemporary Books 

THIRD PERSON

This gives the story strength, especially when there are many characters whose stories intertwine. Recommendation –> Fantasy or sci-fi books

Screenshot 2017-04-14 at 13.22.50

THE WINNER OF TASK #1 

Well back to me! Lia’s guest post was just awesome and now is the time you have been waiting for. THE WINNER of the first round CREATING YOUR OWN BLURB. Firstly, i know the suspense is killing you, but this was JUST SO incredibly hard. I’ve never ‘judged’ something before, especially something as fragile and beautiful as words and so I just didn’t know HOW to choose between all of them. I decided on having an original voice in your blurb, an original and creative idea, and something that stands out from the crowd, something NOT typical. And the winner, who managed to create a unique, and whimsical idea, is…

DAISY M. PAQUET

Daisy @ Dragoncologist submitted an AMAZING entry. Sure, hers wasn’t the most diverse, but the creativity and amazingness of it all, it was MIND – BLOWING.

MC, an ordinary book character, is told that she has been moved from protagonist to antagonist. Unsure of what she’s done, she is granted a Quest- A Quest to ask the Writer why, a chance to change his mind.

Oliver Crowley, a young secondary character, has been thrown into MC’s place as protagonist.  Oliver has no desire to be a ‘good guy’- he has always wanted to follow in his great-grand-uncle’s footsteps and be a villain to end all villains- driving the protagonists nuts and confusing them as all get-out.

 Avril Braun, just your regular old supporting character, is happy where she is. A gray character is the most fun to be, after all. The gray characters get the most fanmail, the most fanart, and the most fanfiction. One problem, though- the Writer hasn’t given her a story. Impatient and bored, Avril decides to join the first story she sees.

Together, these three characters go into the very heart of stories, where tropes and clichés are used and ignored, and where tranquil poetry and bloody drama coexist.

Hilarious and witty! –Book Reviewer Person
All the stars, cupcakes! – Famous Author Person
A super hilarious and emotional ride! – Somebody Cool

Please tell me I’m not the only one who is dying to read this book. First, it sounds like a magical fantasy (YES), I’m pretty sure the characters can be turned into somewhat diverse (YASSS) and it looks like there’ll be backstories, AND FRIENDSHIPS and the author reviews are hilarious. It just sounds really different and witty AND AWESOME!

Seriously, I’m not even lying, there WERE A LOT OF HISTORICAL FICTIONS and DIVERSE ROMANCES that I got and I seemed to love all of them.

Notable Entries –> JOCE @ Write Through The Night, Sarah @ Wander Girl, Lia @ Lost In A Story, L Necole, Ashley, Nandini BharadwajMillie Rayford, May @ Forever and Everly and basically all the entries!  YOU CAN VIEW ALL ENTRIES HERE

Screenshot 2017-04-14 at 13.22.50

 TASK # 2

TASK –>

Write an OPENING to your own story using a different perspective

TYPE –>

Solo Round

DEADLINE –>

1st June 2017

GUIDELINES –>

  • Word limit: 500
  • Be REALLY creative with your perspective
  • Submit your blurb with your name, blog URL, and the perspective (e.g the sky)
  • Must be your own ideas (inspiration allowed)

THE BEST OPENING WILL HAVE  –> 

  • Something original and unique
  • Something whimsical and mind-blowing
  • Something strong, powerful with a good writing style
  • Something different and realistic for an opening
  • Something put together well
  • Something that has a big impact

wp-1483874913660.png

Do you agree with Lia’s guest post? Didn’t you just love it? What’s your take on perspectives? Have you read a book with a creative perspective? What did you think of Daisy’s, the winner, entry? Love it as much as I did or did you like another blurb on the doc better? Excited for this task or is writer’s block kicking in? Type something new!

Sign Off

65 thoughts on “Writing In Different Perspectives | The What, The How and The Creativity

  1. Hi, Mahriya, I was just wondering, wasn’t the deadline for the last challenge supposed to be tomorrow? It may just be me, but I saw this post just as I was about to send in my blurb, thinking that I had until tomorrow. Sorry to bother you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is so good! I love it so much! A book written from a blind person’s perspective I think is All The Light We Cannot See. My mom read it. It may be in third person

    Also, I hate books with an unreliable narrator. They are just the worst!!

    And how does the blurb thing work? :O Do you have to be in a challenge type thing? I am curious. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m SO GLAD that Lia recommended third person for fantasy/sci-fi because THAT’S WHAT I THINK TOO. I mean I also think third person can fit ANY GENRE because I love it so much, but I agree that first person is a great fit for contemporary!

    To anyone stalking my comment (because I’m that amazing): I LOVE THIRD PERSON SOOOOOO MUUUUUUCH AND I WON’T SAY THAT IT’S THE BEST (but it is and I’m thinking it).

    And now, onto the contest part! Because I’m a confused little mango queen — do you mean “your own story” as in your LIFE story??? Or “your own story” as in your own NOVEL??? #needsclarification

    Also I’m going to kill you know for giving us a word limit. LIKE HELLO. HAVE YOU MET ME.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with Lia that a first person is more suited to contemporary and third person for heavier fantasy works. But I also like it when writers break rules but still keep the readers entertained. Some books having a second person narration that I’ve read are The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and choose-your-own-scary-adventure kind by R. L. Stine.
    That blurb was so very good! It was different and creative and definitely deserved to win! 🙂 Congrats, Daisy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amazing blurb ! I’m really excited for your second task ! I thinking to have a go at it 🙂
    I don’t know if you saw , I was away for quite a long long while , and I definitely missed reading your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Honestly, I love books with unique perspectives, it just makes reading feel like entering an entirely different world! Lia’s guest post was AMAZING!! I am just getting back from my hiatus so is this a challenge and can everyone join? I’m a little confused… (work brain, work). Amazing post, I can’t wait to see more!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Holy kittens, I won something! *dies* thanks! And I wasn’t sure what ‘diverse’ would be because every single little particle of dust is diverse (hmm, the pov of a particle of dust…) so… yeah. :p I love books from different perspectives! Especially unreliable narrators because I always relate to them so hard. :p this round looks like crazy fun! Enjoying this wayyy too much. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • NO DON’T DIE, you must enter the second round! I absolutely LOVEd your entry, so your curerently winning with 5 points! POV of dust, sounds awesome! (hehehe) Unrelaible narrators are good and bad but I mostly find them annoying? But they’re relatable FOR SURE. YYYAAYYY, I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

      Like

  8. I loved that blurb!! I already sent my post in (you gave us a very short window) but I think it really helped when thinking about my piece as a whole….
    The unreliable narrator thing made me think of Liar by Justine Larbalestier (I probably spelled that wrong) because that was the most crazy ride I’ve ever been on in a book.
    Great post Lia and great challenge mahriya!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Mahriya!

    I’ve seen your name around a lot and I believe we have many mutual blogging friends. So I just headed over to your blog to have a look. It’s lovely! I was wondering, is it too late to join in the typewriter project?

    I was also going to say that I started my own blogging project today and thought you may be interested in getting involved? I’d love you to check it out. All the details are on my blog. Thanks so much and great blog!
    gracie

    Liked by 1 person

Are You Pondering What I'm Pondering?

